Backup and Sync | Photos | Forums: Ask the Geeks!

 

Please ask your questions here (not in email) – we promise to respond here, no such promise with email. This is a benefit of membership. Here’s info  on how to post to the Forum.

You must be logged in as a Premium Member to Ask the Geeks a question. All are welcome to freely browse the Forums.

Avatar

Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_TopicIcon
Backup and Sync
November 16, 2017
11:38 am
Avatar
Don Walton
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 12
Member Since:
November 8, 2015
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

i have accumulated many duplicates again in my Google Photos account. I have been going back up and sync and picassa to upload the photos. 

What would be the best way the to delete all photos from Google and the best way to get folders and albums from hard drive to Google photos?

November 16, 2017
12:37 pm
Avatar
MrsGeek
Admin
Forum Posts: 2322
Member Since:
July 2, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

My bet is that you’re getting duplicates because you’re using 2 methods for uploading. Picasa uploads albums, Backup and Sync uploads folders. I expect that every photo in an album is therefore duplicated.

Does that sound right?

As for which is “better” that also depends – do you want all of the pictures on your hard drive to be backed up to the cloud? Or just your best ones? I like using Picasa for backup because most of my best photos in PIcasa have captions and Picasa’s upload converts the captions to Google Photos Descriptions. I don’t think Backup and Sync does that. alit

If you do use Picasa, you should use the size setting: Original Quality because Picasa’s smaller size is a LOT smaller than the new “High Quality” Yes, that means they will take up storage allotment, but you can retroactively compress them with one command – Recover Storage.

November 16, 2017
1:28 pm
Avatar
Don Walton
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 12
Member Since:
November 8, 2015
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

That does sound right. If I use Picassa to transfer albums, does that mean I should remove completely the Backup and Sync App or just change settings? I have always used the original quality setting so that is ok.

November 18, 2017
10:54 pm
Avatar
MrsGeek
Admin
Forum Posts: 2322
Member Since:
July 2, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Don,

I would just change settings. I leave Backup and Sync active, but I changed the settings so that there is only one folder it is watching. That folder is called UploadMe (or something like that) So I know that if I want a photo uploaded to Google Photos, all I need to do is put it in that folder. Other than that, everything is turned off in the Backup and Sync settings.

Forum Timezone: America/New_York

Most Users Ever Online: 84

Currently Online:
9 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

THOMAS J PARKS: 128

Roxie Marston: 110

Bob Brown: 95

Barbara Dalderis: 93

David Cross: 89

Bill Osborne: 65

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 309

Members: 2006

Moderators: 3

Admins: 3

Forum Stats:

Groups: 3

Forums: 19

Topics: 1728

Posts: 5720

Newest Members:

Janice Core, Sue Price, Selene DelJuidice, robert boothe, james J sirmons, kate webb

Moderators: Christine Guld: 0, Jim Guld: 0, rvnavigator: 9

Administrators: MrGeek: 398, MrsGeek: 2322, Craig Biles: 0

Powered by WishList Member - Membership Software