Never Editing the Original in Pacasa | Photos | Forums: Ask the Geeks!

Please ask your questions here (not in email) – we promise to respond here, no such promise with email. This is a benefit of membership. Here’s info  on how to post to this Q&A Forum.

You must be logged in as a Premium Member to Ask the Geeks a question. All are welcome to freely browse the Forums.

Avatar
Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope


Match



Forum Options



Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_TopicIcon
Never Editing the Original in Pacasa
January 5, 2016
11:46 am
Avatar
John Dickerson
Guest
Guests

I have started useing* CS-6 and worried about destroying the original by editing. I bring all of my pictures onto my computer thru Picasa and then edit some chosen ones in CS-6. I have been making copies of the ones editing in CS-6 because I don’t want to destroy the original which makes for a lot of copies. 

I know Picasa always makes a copy of a photo because ”in Pacasa you never work on the original …always a copy”. Where do these originals reside that are never edited and can I make a copy of ”an original” if I need to? Thatway I don’t need to keep making copies of photos sent to CS-6.

 

*=I know it’s mis-spelt but it makes more sense that to spell it us-ing….don’t you think?

January 5, 2016
12:56 pm
Avatar
MrsGeek
Admin
Forum Posts: 3260
Member Since:
July 2, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Well … you have the right idea, but that’s not exactly how it works. Picasa is not working on a copy. It is working on the original, but it does not save the edits to the original – it saves then to an overlay file. When you look at a picture in Picasa you are looking at the original PLUS the overlay file. IF you save the edits to file, Picasa does make a copy and puts the original in a hidden folder called .picasaoriginals

Here’s the video that explains: How Picasa Handles Edits

Let me know if that helps.

January 17, 2016
6:06 am
Avatar
James
Mt. Pleasant (Chs), SC
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 76
Member Since:
December 27, 2015
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Sooooo, what does Google+ & Google Photos pick up and display in their bailiwick, originals or the copy with overlay?

Also, am I following the right protocol?  If an answer to a post leads to another question, do you ‘reply’ with a question to that answer, or start another post?

Thanks!

Bon Chance!!
Jim, 1RCS

January 18, 2016
11:54 am
Avatar
MrsGeek
Admin
Forum Posts: 3260
Member Since:
July 2, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Google photos uses whatever it finds on your hard drive as the .jpg picture. In your scenario, that would be the original. So, if you want Google Photos to get the edited version, you need to do a SAVE in Picasa. AND, the upload to Google Photos must happen after the save.

As for the protocol for continuing questions, it’s a judgement call. When in doubt, start your own message thread, if only because it tends to get buried if you’re responding to someone else’s older question. You can always refer to the old topic by copying the URL.

Forum Timezone: America/New_York
Most Users Ever Online: 301
Currently Online:
Guest(s) 8
Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)
Top Posters:
THOMAS J PARKS: 163
Roxie Marston: 118
Barbara Dalderis: 108
Bob Brown: 96
David Cross: 89
guppy1: 82
Member Stats:
Guest Posters: 402
Members: 1343
Moderators: 1
Admins: 4
Forum Stats:
Groups: 3
Forums: 19
Topics: 2378
Posts: 7838
Newest Members:
Michal Parker, Peggy George, Elaine Phillips-Stork, Delores Miller, Wayne Johnson
Moderators: Jim: 0
Administrators: MrGeek: 452, MrsGeek: 3260, Craig Biles: 0, David Carr: 1