moving photos from "C" drive to an external "D" drive | Photos | Forums: Ask the Geeks!

Please ask your questions here (not in email) – we promise to respond here, no such promise with email. This is a benefit of membership. Here’s info  on how to post to this Q&A Forum.

You must be logged in as a Premium Member to Ask the Geeks a question. All are welcome to freely browse the Forums.

Avatar
Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope


Match



Forum Options



Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_TopicIcon
moving photos from "C" drive to an external "D" drive
April 18, 2019
2:09 pm
Avatar
William French
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
October 17, 2018
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

My c drive contains app. 40 G. pictures located in a badly needed space.  2 (or more) questions: 1.  Can Google Drive be moved from c to d, and how? 2. Can photos in c  be moved to d, and how?  Google back up stopped because of not enough disc space. So, therefore, my latest photos don’t go automatically to Google Photos

April 18, 2019
9:37 pm
Avatar
MrsGeek
Admin
Forum Posts: 2811
Member Since:
July 2, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

A couple of questions first …

  1. Are you only backing up photos? or are there other files being synced between Google Drive and your computer?
  2. Will your drive D always be connected?

The Google Backup and Sync utility is more complex than the old “Google Drive” was. There are 2 very distinct parts to it:

  1. Copying files UP from computer to Google Drive online
  2. Copying files DOWN from Google Drive online to computer

If you are only backing up photos, then you’re only using part 1. And, if your D drive is always plugged in to the computer, then you treat a folder there just like any other folder on your computer. To tell Backup and Sync to backup from D:\mynewpictures instead of C:\myoldpictures is actually pretty easy …

  1. Find the Backup and Sync icon in your computer’s SysTray in lower right, click it then click the 3-dot menu in the upper right and choose Preferences
  2. You should see an option to “Choose Folders” click that and locate the D:mynewpictures folder you want to use. You should now see that folder listed with the folders to be backed up
  3. Now you can UNcheck C:myoldpictures and that will no longer be used by Backup and Sync
  4. Since C:myoldpictures are already backed up, I would just manually copy them all over to their own folder on your D drive and delete them from C

If all of this is confusing … you’re not alone! Please review the following video, paying most attention to the second half about the settings. Then get back to me with more questions.

500.GP-Install Backup and Sync for Windows

Forum Timezone: America/New_York
Most Users Ever Online: 93
Currently Online:
17
Guest(s)
Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)
Top Posters:
THOMAS J PARKS: 150
Roxie Marston: 118
Barbara Dalderis: 103
Bob Brown: 96
David Cross: 89
guppy1: 75
Member Stats:
Guest Posters: 402
Members: 1065
Moderators: 1
Admins: 4
Forum Stats:
Groups: 3
Forums: 19
Topics: 2047
Posts: 6814
Newest Members:
Barbara Sargeant, Timothy Clark, Judy Reel, Liz Milford, MaryJane Navarro, Joanne ODonnell
Moderators: Jim Guld: 0
Administrators: MrGeek: 424, MrsGeek: 2811, Craig Biles: 0, David Carr: 1