Please ask your questions here (not in email) – we promise to respond here, no such promise with email. This is a benefit of membership. Here’s info on how to post to this Q&A Forum.
You must be logged in as a Premium Member to Ask the Geeks a question. All are welcome to freely browse the Forums.
November 22, 2013
I think I have asked you this before and am still confused.
There are many ways people send me pictures. They can come as attachments or embedded pictures and be in Windows, Android, or Chrome OS. There seems to be a common thread if you want to save them and that is to save them to Google Drive NOT Google Photos. When you save them to Google Drive they do show up in Google Photos but now I have two sets of pictures in two locations or is there just one??????? Can I delete all these pictures from Google Drive without deleting them from Google Photos.
Why does Google not make a standard option to ” Save to Google Photos ” across all platforms?
Help !! I am confused.
Wouldn’t that be nice – ” Save to Google Photos ” across all platforms
It has something to do with the back end stuff. Google Photos is not actually seen as storage for other applications. It is special. It needs to get photos directly from the source (phones, hard drives) and, somehow the actual files are stored in Drive. But – you are right that it’s not the same when you save a photo to drive. I expect this relationship to get clearer in the year ahead.
Meanwhile, what you need to do when you you receive a photo via text, email, etc. is save to your device – then just let Google Photos take over from there, uploading all device photos to your Google Photos account. If it’s on a computer, you can save to a folder on the computer then either have Backup and Sync watching that folder, or manually drag and drop them to Google Photos.
By the way, I notice the comment on our 2019 survey, “Please have Ron Brown back as a guest on your show. He was GREAT !!!””
🙂 I agree completely. Let’s do it. Probably after we return from Down Under.
November 22, 2013
Chris.. Just a follow up question.
Lets say I get a picture of Fred on my Smartphone as an embedded email. For quick save it lets me save the picture to Google Drive but also adds it to Google Photos. If I delete the Google Drive Picture will it delete it from Google Photos?
I have hundred’s of photos just sitting organized on Google Drive and would like to delete them all but don’t want to lose them fro Google Photos. So if I delete the picture of Fred from Google Drive will it delete from GP.
November 22, 2013
Chris.. I had some time this afternoon and deleted a number of photos on my Google Drive and can confirm they stayed in Google Photos. I understand you methods and answer but this is how I am going to teach my class this week and wanted to confirm with you it is correct.
” There are many ways of saving photos across different platforms but all offer the option to save the picture to Google Drive” Once it is saved to Google Drive a copy is placed in Google Photos. You may safely delete the pictures from Google Drive as these are not needed and will just appear as a number of Jpegs. Deleting the Photo from Google Drive will not affect your picture in Google Photos.”
Now I’m confused, or something is wrong … Here’s the official help file for Google Drive <-> Google Photos
- When you delete a photo from Google Photos, it’ll also get deleted from Google Drive.
- If you delete a photo from Google Drive, it’ll also get deleted from Google Photos.
So – be very careful, maybe wait a day and check again before deciding that the photos did not get deleted.
There are two exceptions to “delete from one and it’s deleted from the other”
- If you delete an entire folder (within the Google Photos folder) in Google Drive, it won’t delete the photos.
- If you’ve added the photo to an album in Google Photos, deleting that photo in Drive won’t delete from Photos
And another point:
Once it is saved to Google Drive a copy is placed in Google Photos
A photo saved in Google Drive will not show up in Google Photos unless you have a setting turned on in Google Photos “Sync photos and videos from Google Drive” Even then, those photos are not copied – they just show up. If you turn off that setting, they’ll disappear again.
Here’s the official help page for Google Drive<->Google Photos