Please ask your questions here (not in email) – we promise to respond here, no such promise with email. This is a benefit of membership. Here’s info on how to post to this Q&A Forum.
You must be logged in as a Premium Member to Ask the Geeks a question. All are welcome to freely browse the Forums.
December 11, 2020
I don’t really use google drive, but over the years about 100 photos have ended up there. They seem to be duplicates of what I have in Google Photos. Maybe it went there because I sent an email or shared them or downloaded a photo but at any rate, the same photos are in Google photos. When I went to the Google Drive picture file and tried to delete the photos it said that the photos would be deleted everywhere in all files. So, I did not delete them. I want them to stay in google photos. However, just wondering how or if I can clear out my google drive. It does not really hurt anything that I know of so I guess it can stay, but wondering …
The “will be deleted from everywhere” refers to your computer, because Drive may be sync’ing with your computer. Since summer of 2019, any links between Google Drive and Google Photos were terminated. I always recommend testing though – so delete one of the photos from Google Drive, then verify that it is still in Google Photos. If so, then delete the rest from Drive.