Backup google photos to ONE account from both cell phones | Photos | Forums: Ask the Geeks!

Please ask your questions here (not in email) – we promise to respond here, no such promise with email. This is a benefit of membership. Here’s info  on how to post to this Q&A Forum.

You must be logged in as a Premium Member to Ask the Geeks a question. All are welcome to freely browse the Forums.

Avatar
Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope


Match



Forum Options



Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_TopicIcon
Backup google photos to ONE account from both cell phones
September 28, 2021
2:05 pm
Avatar
Sue Hepler
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 33
Member Since:
January 18, 2019
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I want ALL of Don’s photos that he takes with his cellphone to be uploaded to MY Google Photos account automatically all the time.  He does not need his own Google photos account.  Can we delete his Google Photos account from his phone and just have mine listed?  We recently got some “partner sharing” thing going but I don’t understand how that works.

September 29, 2021
9:36 am
Avatar
MrsGeek
Admin
Forum Posts: 3203
Member Since:
July 2, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hi Sue,

I think the best thing is for Don to keep his own account. If you already set up partner sharing, here’s how you get ALL of his photos in your account
Sharing
Dons photos
3 dot menu and settings
Save to your account
All photos
 
After all his photos have been saved to your account (you’d have to manually check this – use “Recently Added” view on your photo library and you should see all of his photos) you could change the account on his phone to yours – but I don’t recommend it. It’s just too prone to problems when you start sharing accounts. AND – the partner sharing works so well. Once it’s going, any time he takes a photo you will instantly have it in your library. If you want him to see your photos as well, just set the settings on his side to automatically save all of your photos to his account.
 
A side benefit of this system is that you have an automatic backup! If you ever accidentally deleted a bunch of photos from your account – they’ll still be in his.
 
yes, this will take up more storage. I pay $20/year for 100 GB and that is shared with Jim. 
Forum Timezone: America/New_York
Most Users Ever Online: 301
Currently Online:
Guest(s) 12
Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)
Top Posters:
THOMAS J PARKS: 163
Roxie Marston: 118
Barbara Dalderis: 108
Bob Brown: 96
David Cross: 89
guppy1: 82
Member Stats:
Guest Posters: 402
Members: 1338
Moderators: 1
Admins: 4
Forum Stats:
Groups: 3
Forums: 19
Topics: 2337
Posts: 7713
Newest Members:
Beverly Birnbaum, JULIE J WALDROP, Terry Scheckwitz, Anthony Bufalo, Walt Cole, Sharon Marshall
Moderators: Jim: 0
Administrators: MrGeek: 450, MrsGeek: 3203, Craig Biles: 0, David Carr: 1