Please ask your questions here (not in email) – we promise to respond here, no such promise with email. This is a benefit of membership. Here’s info on how to post to this Q&A Forum.
You must be logged in as a Premium Member to Ask the Geeks a question. All are welcome to freely browse the Forums.
August 16, 2012
Hi Chris…Hope you can set me straight on this. Just this morning I received the following post on FB from a friend:
To all my FB friends, may I request you to please do something for me. I want to stay PRIVATELY connected with you. However with the recent changes in FB, the public can now see activities on any wall. This happens when our friend hits “like” or “comment”, automatically, their friends would see our posts too. Unfortunately, we cannot change this setting by ourselves because Facebook has configured it this way. So I need your help. Only you can do this for me. Please place your mouse over my name above(do not click), a window will appear, now move the mouse on “Friends”(also without clicking), then down to “Settings”, click here and a list will appear. REMOVE the CHECK on “COMMENTS & LIKE” by clicking on it. By doing this my activity amongst friends and my family will no longer become public. Many thanks! Paste this on your wall so your contacts would follow suit too, that is, if you care about your privacy! Thank you.
This person is a professional, and quite savvy in the computer world, and her work requires her to stay current on communications and technology…so, far be it from me to question her.
This evening I read your post on FB about this same issue. I clicked on the link, I think it was tutorial #10, but did not find that dealing with this specific problem. Did I miss something? Will you break this down to my level so I can understand. Thanks in advance. B. Eaton
Thanks for posting here. You’re right, Video #10 is not the right one … it’s video 12 on Privacy that is about how we all control who sees what we post. If you post something on Facebook and set the audience selector to Friends – ONLY your friends can see it.
So – what is untrue about the “To all my Facebook friends …” post is the part that reads,
“…when our friend hits “like” or “comment”, automatically, their friends would see our posts too. Unfortunately, we cannot change this setting by ourselves because Facebook has configured it this way. ”
People who think this are just confused and they don’t understand the audience selector. Yes, if you are my friend and you comment on Tina’s post (Tina is not my friend), I will see your comment and Tina’s post in my ticker, but ONLY IF Tina posted with an audience of Public or Friends of Friends. If Tina selected Friends as her audience, then I cannot see her post – or your comment – because I am not her friend.
If you follow the instructions to “REMOVE the CHECK on “COMMENTS & LIKE” by clicking on it.” all it will do is stop showing you any comments or likes made by your friend. It will have no effect on who sees your friend’s original post. Only she can control that by using the Audience selector and setting it to Friends.
You can trust the audience selector. If you post and choose Friends as the audience, then ONLY YOUR FRIENDS can see that. Period. I don’t care who comments on it. If, however, you choose Public, or Friends of Friends … then everyone, or all the friends of your friends, can see your post. Who can see your post is up to YOU.