capturing account before deleting | Facebook | Forums: Ask the Geeks!

Please ask your questions here (not in email) – we promise to respond here, no such promise with email. This is a benefit of membership. Here’s info  on how to post to this Q&A Forum.

You must be logged in as a Premium Member to Ask the Geeks a question. All are welcome to freely browse the Forums.

Avatar
Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope


Match



Forum Options



Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_TopicIcon
capturing account before deleting
August 21, 2013
9:00 pm
Avatar
Bonnie Boyce
Guest
Guests

My wife recently passed away and I’m wondering if there is anyway to capture her posts and pictures to some media  (print to pdf?) before I close out here account.

 

Mike Boyle

August 22, 2013
11:01 am
Avatar
MrsGeek
Admin
Forum Posts: 3198
Member Since:
July 2, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Mike, 

I’m so sorry for your loss.

Good thinking about her Facebook account.  Yes, you can download a complete copy of everything in her account.  Here are the Facebook instructions:

You can download your information from the Account Settings page.
  1. Click  at the top right of any Facebook page and selectAccount Settings
  2. Click General in the left-hand column
  3. Click on “Download a copy of your Facebook data”
  4. Click Start My Archive

You can read more on Facebook’s Help page on Downloading Account Data

Then you can either delete her account, or Memorialize it.

You might want to consider ‘Memorializing’ her account.  That way people can still leave messages or post pictures on her timeline in her memory.  Here’s what Facebook says about Memorialized accounts:

When a person passes away, we memorialize their account to protect their privacy. Here are some of the key features of memorialized accounts:

  • No one can log into a memorialized account and no new friends can be accepted
  • Depending on the privacy settings of the deceased person’s account, friends can share memories on the memorialized timeline
  • Anyone can send private messages to the deceased person
  • Content the deceased person shared (ex: photos, posts) remains on Facebook and is visible to the audience it was shared with
  • Memorialized timelines don’t appear in People You May Know and other suggestions

Here are the instructions for Deactivating, Deleting, or Memorializing a Facebook Account.

If you want to print everything she shared on her timeline, you might want to look at LikeBooks.  I’ve never used it so can’t vouch, but I have used similar services for Blogs, and it is a great thing to have a printed book of those memories.

August 22, 2013
11:58 am
Avatar
Bonnie Boyce
Guest
Guests

Thanks Chris,

 

Mike

 

Forum Timezone: America/New_York
Most Users Ever Online: 301
Currently Online:
Guest(s) 12
Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)
Top Posters:
THOMAS J PARKS: 163
Roxie Marston: 118
Barbara Dalderis: 108
Bob Brown: 96
David Cross: 89
guppy1: 82
Member Stats:
Guest Posters: 402
Members: 1330
Moderators: 1
Admins: 4
Forum Stats:
Groups: 3
Forums: 19
Topics: 2334
Posts: 7701
Newest Members:
Elaine Lopez, Janice Core, MARSHALL SHERMAN, Theresa Savaria, Terri Hanson
Moderators: Jim: 0
Administrators: MrGeek: 450, MrsGeek: 3198, Craig Biles: 0, David Carr: 1