Google+ Deleting pix -- Picasa Question -- Facebook Q | Google+ | Forums: Ask the Geeks!

Please ask your questions here (not in email) – we promise to respond here, no such promise with email. This is a benefit of membership. Here’s info  on how to post to this Q&A Forum.

You must be logged in as a Premium Member to Ask the Geeks a question. All are welcome to freely browse the Forums.

Avatar
Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope


Match



Forum Options



Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_TopicIcon
Google+ Deleting pix -- Picasa Question -- Facebook Q
September 6, 2013
6:43 pm
Avatar
Richard Bliss
Guest
Guests

Hi Folks,

I did try to find answers to these Q’s in the forum but struck out.

Thx for your help,

Richard

 

GOOGLE+  (G+)

1.    Using my Android S3 phone, how can I delete photos that were automatically uploaded to G+ just after snapping those photos???
       Even when I delete them from my SD Card, they still stay in G+.

 

2.    Why use Dropbox, Google+, and Picasa?  Am I “over-storing” the pix?  Can I only use G+ for back up?

 

3.    Are the pix on G+ a true safety Back-Up if my pix on my phone or computer get deleted by mistake?

 

PICASA

1.    The Picasa “Delete Items Confirm” box does NOT show up.  How do I put it in?

 

2.    On my wife’s S3 phone, when I open her Picasa app, we see lots of pix & videos that are NOT seen in her phone’ “Gallery”.        We can’t find these Picasa images on any of our 3 computers.  So amyI at risk of losing them if I try to put the onto one of our computers???

 

FACEBOOK

1.    After loading a photo into an ALBUM, at the right bottom is A POST PHOTOS button to complete the process.  I can ALSO just click the BACK ARROW at the UPPER LEFT CORNER OF THE SCREEN to complete the process. Either of these choices finishes the the process of loading the picture into the album.

What is the difference between these two choices?

 

 

September 7, 2013
1:07 am
Avatar
MrsGeek
Admin
Forum Posts: 3203
Member Since:
July 2, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Richard,

I’ll try to answer below each question – using Blue

Richard Bliss said
Hi Folks,

I did try to find answers to these Q’s in the forum but struck out.

Thx for your help,

Richard

 

GOOGLE+  (G+)

1.    Using my Android S3 phone, how can I delete photos that were automatically uploaded to G+ just after snapping those photos???
       Even when I delete them from my SD Card, they still stay in G+.

Yes, delete them from your phone – they are now in ‘the Cloud’ using Google+

 

2.    Why use Dropbox, Google+, and Picasa?  Am I “over-storing” the pix?  Can I only use G+ for back up?

Yes, we are definitely ‘over-storing’ if we use all the options … and using lots of our Data allotment on our phones too!  I have tried the auto-backup/upload for Google+, Facebook, iCloud, and Dropbox.  I’ve turned them all off except for dropbox.  See this video for how we do it: Dropbox Camera Uploads

 

3.    Are the pix on G+ a true safety Back-Up if my pix on my phone or computer get deleted by mistake?

Only for your phone.  What gets uploaded to Google+ does not get ‘downloaded’ to your computer, unless you do so manually.  That’s why I think Dropbox is the best.

 

PICASA

1.    The Picasa “Delete Items Confirm” box does NOT show up.  How do I put it in?

 

2.    On my wife’s S3 phone, when I open her Picasa app, we see lots of pix & videos that are NOT seen in her phone’ “Gallery”.        We can’t find these Picasa images on any of our 3 computers.  So amyI at risk of losing them if I try to put the onto one of our computers???

The Picasa App on her phone is just referring to Picasa Web Albums.  So, the phone is showing the pictures from the Web Albums – they aren’t on the phone.  If you put the phone into Airplane mode (no internet connection) then you won’t see those pictures.

 

FACEBOOK

1.    After loading a photo into an ALBUM, at the right bottom is A POST PHOTOS button to complete the process.  I can ALSO just click the BACK ARROW at the UPPER LEFT CORNER OF THE SCREEN to complete the process. Either of these choices finishes the the process of loading the picture into the album.

What is the difference between these two choices?

If I am understanding you right … the difference is that ‘Post’ will add an update to your Timeline and your friends’ News Feeds.  the Back arrow probably just adds the pictures without any post to your timeline.

 
Let me know if this helps.
 

 

Forum Timezone: America/New_York
Most Users Ever Online: 301
Currently Online:
Guest(s) 6
Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)
Top Posters:
THOMAS J PARKS: 163
Roxie Marston: 118
Barbara Dalderis: 108
Bob Brown: 96
David Cross: 89
guppy1: 82
Member Stats:
Guest Posters: 402
Members: 1339
Moderators: 1
Admins: 4
Forum Stats:
Groups: 3
Forums: 19
Topics: 2337
Posts: 7713
Newest Members:
Paul Stratton, Beverly Birnbaum, JULIE J WALDROP, Terry Scheckwitz, Anthony Bufalo
Moderators: Jim: 0
Administrators: MrGeek: 450, MrsGeek: 3203, Craig Biles: 0, David Carr: 1